When you start writing the epic novel most people have an idea of what they’re going to put down. Some do a full length outline, or write a novel that covers the novel plot. but regardless of what you write most of us have at one time or another taught ourselves to write a scene that squicks us out.

Yes, it does happen. For example I write romances. I’m comfortable in the genre, with the warm, sensual love scene. However, to challenge myself I set a goal. I decided I’d write a novella, one that’s hot, and sexy. I don’t do erotic – I don’t feel comfortable with writing it.

So, now I have a challenge, a goal that I’ve set for myself and I’m having find a way to do it. Now you may think there’s no difference. It’s easy. Just get on with it. But let me put it this way, pick one thing that you know you’re uneasy doing. Be it writing an explicit sex scene, or bungee jumping, or riding a bike. Now, focus on it. What exactly do you feel? Nervous? Scared? Nauseous?

If you’ve answered yes to even one of those questions you’ll understand my viewpoint. To overcome my discomfort and fear I set small goals. I write a scene as I’m comfortable and then go back and change it up. Spice it up if you were. Sometimes its as simple as using a different word, other times it’s rewriting an entire paragraph.

The point is, baby steps. If you take the small steps you can succeed. So today, go out and face your fear. I don’t mean do something that is dangerous, but do something you’ve always hesitated to do. Color your hair, read a different book, try a different flavor of coffee. Something that you’ve always been unsure about or thought wouldn’t be ‘you’.

Until next time, here’s to overcoming your smallest fear!

 

Bitterness is like cancer. It eats upon the host.
But anger is like fire. It burns it all clean.
~ Maya Angelou